Professional Development

People gathered to look at laptops

Engaging, College Board–Endorsed Workshops to Ensure Your Success

We offer a variety of professional development opportunities to prepare new and returning computer science teachers for success in their classrooms.

New UTeach CS Teachers

We strongly encourage educators who are new to teaching UTeach CS courses to attend our 35-hour professional development workshop. 

Our professional development workshops for AP CS Principles and AP CS A are both College Board–endorsed and may be substituted for an AP Institute.

"In my 23 years of teaching, I have participated in many workshops and training programs and this one tops the list, both in terms of high-quality content and outstanding facilitators."

—Tatyana P.

During these in-depth professional development workshops, you will:

  • Familiarize yourself with the comprehensive teacher materials and curriculum, often from the perspective of a student
  • Practice the collaborative, project-based instructional strategies necessary to teach the course successfully
  • Explore background computer science content in the context of course activities 
  • Master College Board requirements and expectations for AP® implementation

We offer two options for our 35-hour professional development workshops: You can attend a 5-day in-person workshop or a 5-week online workshop. During online professional development, teachers meet once each week for a 2-hour synchronous online session, then complete self-paced modules throughout the week with on-demand support from PD facilitators. 

New UTeach CS Principles Teachers

Recommended Prerequisites 

Teachers with any content background or level of experience are welcome to attend our AP CS Principles professional development. No knowledge or experience with computer science or programming is required.

Online

In-Person

May 25 – June 25, 2022

*Meets weekly on Wednesdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by May 24


June 27 – July 1, 2022

Tuscaloosa, AL



(Grant participants only)


July 6 – August 6, 2022

*Meets weekly on Wednesdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by June 29


 

August 10 – September 10, 2022

*Meets weekly on Wednesdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by August 3


 

*UTeach CS may add additional options for synchronous sessions if there are larger-than-anticipated participant numbers.

New UTeach CS A Teachers

Recommended Prerequisites 

  • Teachers who have taught with the UTeach CS Principles curriculum for 1-2 years and are comfortable programming in Python should be well prepared to participate in the UTeach CSA professional development.
  • Teachers who are new to teaching computer programming are also welcome to participate and will be highly encouraged to complete a free online Java course in addition to the UTeach CSA professional development.

Online

In-Person

May 24 – June 24, 2022

*Meets weekly on Tuesdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by May 23


No upcoming in-person workshops


July 5 – August 5, 2022

*Meets weekly on Tuesdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by June 29


 

August 11 – September 11, 2022

*Meets weekly on Thursdays 

5–7 pm ET (4–6 pm CT; 2–4 pm PT)


Register by August 3


 

*UTeach CS may add additional options for synchronous sessions if there are larger-than-anticipated participant numbers.

Advanced UTeach CS A Teachers

Recommended Prerequisites

Advanced Professional Development for UTeach CSA is only available for teachers participating in the SEED grant for AP CS A. Teachers with extensive experience teaching AP CSA or Java programming may opt out of the full professional development and instead attend 2 hours of training over a 2-week timeframe to become familiar with the platform and curricular approach.

Online

In-Person

May 24–31, 2022

*Meets weekly on Tuesdays 

5–6 pm ET (4–5 pm CT; 2–3 pm PT)


Register by May 23


No upcoming in-person workshops


July 5–12, 2022

*Meets weekly on Tuesdays 

5–6 pm ET (4–5 pm CT; 2–3 pm PT)


Register by June 29


 

August 11–18, 2022

*Meets weekly on Thursdays 

5–6 pm ET (4–5 pm CT; 2–3 pm PT)


Register by August 3


 

*UTeach CS may add additional options for synchronous sessions if there are larger-than-anticipated participant numbers.

Custom Professional Development

Interested in customized professional development for teachers in your district or grant project? Contact us at info@uteachcs.org to discuss bringing UTeach CS professional development to your area.